2008-2009 Season

Award Night

The basketball banquet was tonight and there weren’t many surprises in terms of who brought home hardware.

Manny Harris took down his second MVP award (guess he was deserving of the ‘A’ I gave him on his report card) and DeShawn Sims won most improved player. Good luck finding anyone to argue with the leadership award being given to CJ Lee and David Merritt. Frankly, there isn’t much to argue over with any of the winners.

According to the Michigan basketball twitter page, every player on the team also received a “special watch” in honor of making the NCAA tournament. They are tweeting live from the event so it’s worth a follow.

Here is the full list of award winners:

Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player Manny Harris
Thad Garner Leadership Award C.J. Lee and David Merritt
Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player DeShawn Sims
Steve Grote Hustle Award David Merritt
Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award Jevohn Shepherd
Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive Player C.J. Lee
Sixth Man Award Zack Gibson
Iron Man Award Zack Novak
Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement Zack Novak
Gary Grant Award for Most Assists Manny Harris
Loy Vaught Rebounding Award DeShawn Sims
Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting Manny Harris
To Top