2012-2013 Season

Trey Burke named to Wooden Award midseason top 25

Dustin Johnston

Michigan sophomore guard Trey Burke is one of 25 midseason finalists for the John R. Wooden Award.

Through 16 games, Burke is averaging 18.2 points and 7.2 assists per game.

Burke would be the first player from a high-major conference to average 18 points and seven assists per game in the last 15 seasons.

Burke is regarded as a legitimate Player of the Year candidate by many pundits. He ranks third in Ken Pomeroy’s kPOY ranking system, trailing Mason Plumlee and Russ Smith. CBS Sports also tabs Burke in the number three slot behind Mason Plumlee and Doug McDermott.

Cazzie Russell is the only Michigan player to have won National Player of the Year honors in 1966.

Three other Big Ten players were named finalists for the award, including Illinois guard Brandon Paul, Indiana big man Cody Zeller and Ohio State forward Deshaun Thomas. View the full list of finalists after the jump.

Anthony Bennett, 6-8, Fr., F, UNLV
Laurence Bowers, 6-8, Sr., F, Missouri
Trey Burke, 6-0, So., G, Michigan
Isaiah Canaan, 6-1, Sr., G, Murray State
Michael Carter-Williams, 6-6, So., G, Syracuse
Jack Cooley, 6-9, Sr., F, Notre Dame
Seth Curry, 6-2, Sr., G, Duke
Jamaal Franklin, 6-5, Jr., G, San Diego State
Erick Green, 6-3, Sr., G, Virginia Tech
Elias Harris, 6-8, Sr., F, Gonzaga
Pierre Jackson, 5-10, Sr., G, Baylor
Sean Kilpatrick, 6-4, Jr., G/F, Cincinnati
C.J. McCollum, 6-3, Sr., G, Lehigh
Doug McDermott, 6-8, Jr., F, Creighton
Ben McLemore, 6-5, Fr., G, Kansas
Brandon Paul, 6-4, Sr., G, Illinois
Mason Plumlee, 6-10, Sr., F, Duke
Otto Porter, Jr., 6-8, So., F, Georgetown
Phil Pressey, 5-11, Jr., G, Missouri
Marcus Smart, 6-4, Fr., G, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, 6-0, Jr., G, Louisville
Deshaun Thomas, 6-7, Jr., F, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, 7-0, Sr., C, Kansas
Nate Wolters, 6-4, Sr., G, South Dakota State
Cody Zeller, 7-0, So., F, Indiana

To Top